Dear Relationship,

To whom it may concern,
I ask for a lot of things, but being a detective is not one of them. I am used to the tricks and how quick you can flip the script to “why were you even looking when you said you trust me?” See that’s where you’re wrong, I trust that I can’t trust you, so that’s why I trust myself to never let my guard down against someone like you. Imagine me falling backwards with you behind me as the only intervention between I and the concrete. A person would have to be truly mad to put their own best personal interest and prevention of injury in the hands of another person. See, we don’t have to do this, I’m fine by myself, I’ll sacrifice the future family photos and meaningful memories that will mean so much more when you’re gone because we can’t make anymore because you’re not dead, but gone, which is virtually the same thing, and I can’t stop thinking about you, and the “what ifs” and what everything could have became, and these tears keep staining my fucking page as I write this letter that I’ll never give to you, and then I realize I hate you because I need an emotion strong enough to counter balance all of the love that I had for you…

…and it’s like everytime I wake up the world is on fire again,

And as I sleep the waves from a sea of darkness wash out every ember.

Leave a Reply

